An Important, but hard, New Year’s Resolution

First I really have to marvel at the changes that took place on WordPress since I last made a blog post. I know it’s disappointing and I totally fell off the wagon but hopefully I can dig down inside to find that inspiration and motivation again.

But let me get into why I came here. Today, I made a heavy realization and it is one that I have been seeing for quite some time now but always found it difficult to accept. That is: People won’t always care for you as much as you care for them. They won’t want to be in your company as much or feel the need to reach out as much. That is the simple truth. Sometimes, others are caught up in their own lives and those close to them that there are others (which may include you), that get forgotten.

So here’s where I am at with that sad truth and realization; I need to find a way to not care as much when people do this to me. Here’s why: A. Chances are, I may be doing this to someone else without even knowing. B. These experiences are coming at me so frequently it is hard to ignore that fact that there must be a lesson in there somewhere. C. What’s the point in getting sad and bothered over someone who doesn’t glance twice at you? There aren’t a lot of strong arguments now are there?

So for the year 2016, I will try to care less when I am cast aside and instead learn where to focus my efforts  and where it’s not worth it. Sometimes people are very seasonal or reach out only when they need something; I’m finding a lot of those people in my life right now. Does that mean I am not exciting? A good friend? A good sister? I don’t think so.  I am forced to conclude that the universe may be teaching me the great lesson of loving myself enough to be happy when alone, know my worth and surround myself with people who genuinely care for me and want to be around me. I am tired of failed plans, waiting on others just to have them bail. I am exhausted and quite displeased by the constant knot I have in my stomach when I am ‘left out’.

So that’s my first and I think one of the hardest resolutions I will make for this coming year. My decision may not be liked or understood, but I feel this is what’s best for me.

Do you have any hard decisions you need to make? Tell me about it and maybe I can give you some valuable advice.

Until next time…

3 thoughts on “An Important, but hard, New Year’s Resolution

Leave a Reply

